Tuesday 12 March 2013 - 07:24

Russian Navy to receive 24 submarines, 54 warships by 2020, defense minister says

Story Code : 246182
Russian Navy to receive 24 submarines, 54 warships by 2020, defense minister says
“As a result of the government rearmament program, the Navy will receive eight nuclear-powered strategic submarines, 16 multi-purpose submarines, and 54 surface ships of various classes by 2020,” the RIA Novosti news agency quoted Shoigu as saying on Monday.
He stated that constant upgrading of the fleet was an important part of the Russian Navy's overall development.
Russia plans to build eight Borei class submarines by 2020. The Borei class is a class of nuclear-powered ballistic missile submarine produced by Russia and operated by the Russian Navy. The class is intended to replace the Delta III, Delta IV, and Typhoon classes now in the Russian Navy service and form the core of its nuclear deterrence strategy.
The first Borei class submarine, the Yury Dolgoruky, was put into active service in January.
A second one, the Alexander Nevsky, has been undergoing sea tests. The construction of a third one, the Alexander Suvorov, is to start in July.
The 16 multi-purpose submarines include Graney class nuclear-powered attack submarines and improved Kilo and Lada class diesel-electric subs.
The Russian Navy will also receive Admiral Gorshkov class frigates, Steregushchy class corvettes, Buyan class corvettes, and Ivan Gren Class landing ships.
Last year, Russian President Vladimir Putin said that the procurement of new warships and submarines for Russia’s Navy would be a priority over the next decade.
The Russian government has earmarked five trillion rubles ($166 billion) -- a quarter of the entire armament procurement budget until 2020 -- for this purpose.